top of page

Spotlight - Shepherd Rams


Location: Shepherdstown, WV

Fun fact: Unlike the coach at the Rockne World school, Shepherd University will have a new coach this upcoming season.

Team Record: 1357 wins (19th most in Rockne D-II)

58 wins (T-24th most)

Conference Titles: 20 (Tied 24th)

National Championships: 1

Coaches / Seasons Record

Ryr88 4 - 5 21 - 9

Rex 6 - 9 30 - 24

Hoyanoel 10 - 14 34 - 31

Cyoung187 15 - 18 22 - 30

Jayrod381 23 - 25 26 - 13

Denny28 34 2 - 11

Liquidh 43 - 46 20 - 32

Cenkali24 55 2 - 11

Mcdade34 57 - 72 180 - 57

Dawgnuts 73 - 144 871 - 220 23

Coach Dawgnuts has the Shepherd Rams on the rise and may very well get his second national championship soon. He has teams in several different worlds and has seen his team win titles in at least two different worlds recently (if my memory is accurate). Coach Dawgnuts has won a total of 23 championships and 11,151 victories.

Within Rockne, Coach Dawgnuts went thru 32 seasons where his team didn't get past the second round. Since season 140, he has reached the third round three straight time before starting a new streak of reaching the semifinals last season.

Due to this impressive playoff run, we had to wait until his season was completed to get answers to some questions we wanted to know. Then I decided to hold off until we got recruiting started to complete this Spotlight to start off this upcoming season.

1. Was there any particular reasons why you chose Shepherd way, way back in season 73?

I had been coaching at Fairmont State (Dobie) for 10 seasons or so and had pretty good success. I made it to the National Championship game in my 5th season at Fairmont, so I knew it was possible to recruit a championship level team in that area. Other than that, no particular reason.

2. You have been conference teammates with coach Clememp for 63 seasons and coach Rposborne for 32 seasons. What has it been like to have such long rivalries with these two coaches?

It has been really a different experience having the three of us together for so long. I think we are the top three coaches in wins for D2 in Rockne? From my perspective, having two other guys in the same conference for so long provides a measuring stick. Game-wise, we all know each other well, obviously, so there’s no “sneaking up” on one of them. If one of us does well against the other two we can usually expect a good season. Of course, it helps that they’re in the same division opposite of me so there are some seasons that I only get the winner of their game in the conference title game. We are supportive of each other, conference pride and all of that. Whichever one of us goes deepest in the playoffs gets support from the other two. We’ve managed to be friendly with each other without any shenanigans or ugly rivalries. Just mutual, well deserved respect.

3. You have experience at all levels of Gridiron Dynasty. With your long-time stay at Shepherd, I would assume you enjoy D2 the most. What are those reasons?

I like D2 the most by far, followed by D1. I enjoy 1AA, and I’ve won some National Championships there. If I remember correctly, my first ever title was at 1AA Stony Brook, with my legendary running back Lightning McQueen. Really hate D3. Hate it. I’ve won at least one National Championship at every level except D3. One day maybe I’ll make it my mission to go back to D3 to try to get a title……..but not any time soon, lol.

4. After a long dry stretch with no conference titles and first round playoff losses, you have turned it around with three conference titles in the past five seasons along with three consecutive third round appearances. What did you do or change to account for this improvement?

Honestly, I had some really bad stuff going on in my personal life, so I wasn’t as concerned with this game for a while. Kind of went on cruise control. Then one day I kind of snapped out of it and realized how far Shepherd had dropped off. It was actually kind of embarrassing. I just decided enough was enough and that I either needed to quit playing or get back to being a legitimate contender. Needing a fresh start and a change, I switched completely to a Trips offense and a 3-4 defense. Changed my strategy, practice plans, the way I recruited……..everything. That actually helped to make it fun again. It was tough because my conference mate, rposborne at Presbyterian was reeling off #1 recruiting classes just about every season there for a while. So far it has worked, just had a final four run this season (Dang you Fazbear, lol).

5. Excluding your conference teammates, which three coaches are your biggest rivals...and why?

Honestly, I really wouldn’t say I’ve had any major rivals. I’ve been around for so long that the coaches and teams have changed a lot. There are so many great coaches and teams in D2 Rockne, including two excellent ones that have been in my conference for a long time. There aren’t really any coaches outside of my conference that I have any major history of playing against consistently.

6. I have seen your name in different worlds. How many teams are you currently running? How are they doing?

Right now I have eight teams, five in D1 and three in D2. I would certainly say that coaching wise I’m much more of a threat in D2. My D2 West Chester team just won the most recent National Title in Heisman. I’ve just started my 94th season at D2 Fairmont State in Dobie. At Fairmont State I’ve got 61 Conference titles, and I’ve played in eleven National Championship games, winning only four of them though.

7. What has been your favorite memory of coaching Shepherd?

That would have to be my one and only undefeated season and National Championship way back in season 95.

8. What would be the one thing you would change about the game if you could?

Sorry, but I have to cheat and give you two things: 1) I would like to have a drop down menu on the recruiting page to allow you to select the recruiting season beyond the one you are currently in. Too many times I have taken an average player (especially when it is a skill position player) only because they are the best available in my target area. If we could see the upcoming crop for the following season you could have the option to not sign an average QB or RB (or anyone) if you know there is a high school Junior in your back yard the next season coming up that is a beast. Too many times I’ve filled my spots with an average player only to find out the next season that the same position is loaded with stud recruits in my area. 2) I would love to get rid of the “elite” system in D1. Hate that almost as much as I hate D3! If we have to continue this then it should update at some point, and not be based in any way on real life college teams. Tennessee, an elite, really? I know there are other undeserving teams but I’m a Georgia fan so I couldn’t help it. It’s an unfair and not needed advantage at that level. Probably the only reason I prefer D2 over D1. Well, that and I really like the playoffs.

EndFragment


bottom of page