top of page

Let's meet the Champ!


Meet the Rockne D2 Champion for Season 134!

Cheyney University (MIAA) 18-1 Coach: Waregl72

Victory: 36-31 over Northern Michigan

We need to go back to Season 133 to see where this journey started.  Cheyney University was at a high point of their schools history by winning their first National Championship in season 131 but getting knocked out of the semi-finals the following year.  Their long time coach left and there was suddenly a void that had not be present in over a decade.

Rumors of a coach hiring who  was coming out of Division 3.  Immediately, there was worry that the program may be doomed.  But the worry soon ended as the newly appointed head coach Waregl72 landed the #2 recruit class and the wolves soon found themselves in the National Championship. Unfortunately, they fell short taking a loss to Ferris State and not sure if they can make it again.  

In Season 134, Cheyney landed the #3 best recruit class for the future and won the National Championship 36-31 over Northern Michigan. In addition, he was also named Rockne's Division 2 Coach of the Year!

I was fortunate enough to run into head coach Waregl72 at the award ceremony who had time to sit down with me and answer a few questions!

Akua29 “Thank you coach for taking the time to meet with me. So who is coach waregl72?” Waregl72 “Coach Waregl72 is a middle aged guy that has loved CFB all his life. Growing up in Alabama pretty much sealed that deal. He is married with no kids (other than 1 4 legged one). Works in agriculture full time and radio doing sports play by play part time. Also loves long walks on the beach under the moonlight.”

Akua29 “I think growing up that a lot of guys probably did some sort of play by play while watching or playing games. What's it like to really do play by play while on live radio?” Waregl72 ”It is the next best thing to playing. It isn't as easy as some might think it is, but it is at times exciting and nerve racking.”

Akua29 “When you are not playing WIS, what hobbies do you enjoy?”

Waregl72 “I am a huge music guy. In fact I would say music in some capacity is involved more in my life than about anything else. I sing barbershop in a chorus and have at some point in my life also played guitar and piano. Sports obviously is a big part as well as I go to sporting events and also play fantasy football, baseball, and hockey. I enjoy horror movies a lot also.”

Akua29 “I wasn't even aware what barbershop was until you mentioned this, thank you google. How did you get started in that?”

Waregl72 “My parents introduced me to many different types of music growing up. My dad has sang barbershop ever since I can remember. He asked me a couple years ago to come sing in the chorus with him and I went. It is a blast and I get to do something with my dad that he is passionate about.”

Akua29 “If someone was new to this, what group would recommend checking out?”

Waregl72 “There was a quartet many years ago called the "Okay 4". They were very good. I don't know how easy it would be to find any of their stuff. Otherwise just youtube the genre and you can find some amazing sounds.”

Akua29 “What are your favorite sports & teams?”

Waregl72  “1st and foremost I am a Auburn Tiger football fan. After that my favorite sport is hockey. I love the Boston Bruins and Vancouver Canucks. I am a Seattle Mariners fan in Baseball. Not a huge NBA guy. I watch the NFL, but don't have a team that I primarily root for. If I had to choose it would be the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.”

Akua29 “Mariners? Call me curious, but I'm from Seattle and curious to know how did a Alabama guy grow to like the Seattle Mariners?”

Waregl72 “For whatever reason they just kind of called out to me growing up. Then Ken Griffey Jr happened and it sealed the deal.”

Akua29 “I see you joined WIS back in 2007, how did you find out about whatifsports.com?”

Waregl72  “A good friend of mine was playing back then and asked me to help him co-coach a team. He was the OC and I was the DC. I liked it so much I started my own teams.”

Akua29 “What is your favorite moment since joining GD?”

Waregl72 “Can't be anything but winning this NC. I made it last year, and came up short. When you look at the super quality of teams and coaches that this Cheyney team faced to get the title it makes it that much more special. It was so exciting to log on that afternoon and see the big green W by the box score.”

Akua29 “That was quite a run and congratulations on a well earned National Championship! When you check on the results of your games are you a Wiscast watcher or click for the results type of guy?”

Waregl72 “I click to see the scores right after they update. Never been one to Wiscast.”

Akua29 “Did any other coach have an impact in your coaching development?”

Waregl72 “There are too many to name. The main GD forum has been so helpful in so many ways with all the input from the great coaches there. I also have to give Robust_ Trex a huge shout out because even though we never directly communicated about it, I saw how he had this team set up and what his direction was. It was not my normal way of doing things. You look at the success he had and there was no other choice, but to try to continue doing things his way. That was crucial to the success of this season.”

Akua29 “You have been on quiet the terror with recruiting bringing in the #3 class and last season taking #2. Did the way the team was built change how you recruited?”

Waregl72 “Absolutely it did. He ran one offense and one defense so to try and add things or change things with the top talent he had would not have been wise. Plus his success showed he knew what he was doing. No reason to change that.”

Akua29 “If a new coach just made the move up from Division 3 to Division 2, what one piece of advice would you give them in regards to recruiting?”

Waregl72 “Go outside your area some. You get more money so you can venture outside that 200-300 mile range to get some better recruits.”

Akua29 “Looking at your resume, I see you have done well in Division 3, but you also took a trip up to Division 1A. What was that experience like versus the lower divisions?” Waregl72  “I can't really relate this question to the current situation as when I played D1 it was back before all the engine updates. I do know the game was a lot more difficult to be successful at the upper level back then, and from what I have read it is even more so now. I really like the DIII level. In fact I have my original team that I signed up with (Thiel College in Bryant). I plan to keep that one for awhile seeing as how I took a break for many seasons and ended up getting them back.”

Akua29 “What do you like about DIII compared to D2?”

Waregl72 “My schedule is hectic so finding time to do the elaborate gameplanning and formation research is tough for me. The DIII game is easier to work with for me. “ Akua29 "Your offense is pretty difficult to slow down, how much weight do you put into game planning versus talent?" Waregl72 "Talent obviously has to be there to make things happen and as I have said numerous times I was left a lot of talent on this roster when I took it over a couple seasons ago. That being said, this NC was won with game planning. There were some things that I had to do in order to change up my normal routine so that I could avoid defenses just stopping a certain part of my offense. That also goes back to talent as I had enough on offense to be able to be multifaceted."

Akua29 “During the playoffs, when did it sink that you were likely to return to the NC?”

Waregl72 “Not until I beat your team, and I really mean that. If you look at my playoff run and the teams that I played it was never a given that I would win. I am just lucky Ferris State got put in a different bracket. Coachoatie has my number.”

Akua29 “Northern Michigan is a team that nobody wants to see on their schedule. If you don't mind sharing, what was going through your mind before the match against NMU?”

Waregl72 “I "scouted" his team all season so I knew I was in for one of the toughest matchups I have ever had. I was not optimistic in my chances LOL”

Akua29 “I logged in the next morning and saw you were down 16-12 at the half. I honestly thought, Northern Michigan is probably going to run the table. What was going through your mind and what adjustments (if any) did you have to make?”

Waregl72 “When I saw the score I didn't think there was any way I was going to win. Not to that team and that coach losing at the half. I was just happy it was close at that point. I went and poured over the 1st half box score multiple times trying to find a glitch that seemed to work for me. I saw a little in the passing game that I thought "If I am going to do the impossible it is doing this" Fortunately it worked. That time.”

Akua29 “What is your favorite thing about GD?”

Waregl72 “I have always loved recruiting. In fact there was a time not too long ago I had a team in all 11 worlds so I could constantly recruit”

Akua29 “Do you have any personal future goals now that you won your first NC?” Waregl72 “I would like to win a NC at my DIIII Thiel team.” Akua29 “At Quarterback are you more of a Tech or GI guy?” Waregl72 “Probably GI.”  Akua29 “Offensively, what style of offense do you have the hardest time defending?” Waregl72 “For some reason I have difficulties with good running teams.” Akua29 “If you were in a GD tournament where there was a large pool of money as the prize for the winner, what GD coach would you least like to face?” Waregl72 “Bugeaters. Although mfnmyers is a great DIII coach, I have beaten him before. I think I am 0-290993837 against Bugeaters” Akua29 “It was great to interview you and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know more about you.”

Waregl72 “Thank you for doing all of this, I love it. It was my pleasure to be able to answer some questions. If you ever need anything else feel free to ask.”


bottom of page